updates and chitchat

It all started with a question.

What does this button do? Yes the oolong tea had gotten to me and I had an itchy trigger finger. “Safely Remove Hardware” the little icon in the corner of my view beckoned to me. Safely, seemed so simple.

I am not gonna lie, I am a proud  PC owner. I have used MAC machines and think they are just grand, but I prefer a machine that I can have a little more control over. Like an old Chevy, open the hood and have your way with her. I know that the MAC world requires that you eject or safely uninstall your external drive before you yank them out, and now PC has crossed over. I am still a little old school and I just give them a pull when I am done.

So today is the day. I am going to properly uninstall a drive before I yank it out. I currently have around 10 drives, it can get a little confusing. The little green icon in the corner was flashing at me, just daring me to click it. Safely sounds good, green is always a good color. I clicked it, chose one of the 10 drives listed on my system to Safely Eject. I was really expecting  it to be my  external drive, I was wrong.

Booooooooo, bad green flashing icon. I uninstalled my internal media card reader. After Searching online for hours, I broke down and made the dreaded call to the Dell help desk folks. I think I would rather have gum surgery. More honesty….. I have an adverse reaction to level one help desk personnel. But really, are we sure they should be operating phones.  The young man on the phone was unable to direct me to install software or drivers for the device that I had installed, he had no idea what to do. He did however decide that he should take control of my computer remotely and poke around.

After a lengthy debate about how my current state of sanity would prevent me from letting him control my PC and change random things at will, we both decided to call it a draw.  A few days later I received a call from an upper level help desk helpy helperton who led me to the solution. Open up the hood, unplug the drive and reinstall. The device is plug and play and should fire right back up.

It took loosening some screws and a few Tums but I followed along and all is well. I think I prefer this fix anyway. It feels nice to get your hands dirty once in a while.

Leave a Reply

